Explore by Dialect

Connacht, Ulster and Munster are terms that refer to three of the four provinces of Ireland. On this website, we use these terms in the traditional way to refer to the major dialect groupings for Irish. Within these groupings, the study focuses on Connemara Irish (Connacht), Donegal Irish (Ulster) and Kerry Irish (Munster).

All dialects contrast palatalized vs. velarized consonants. Click on a dialect below for more specific information on that dialect. Click on an image to see it larger. Information about how to interpret images is available here.




Images coming soon.



Images coming soon.